Since then, Fox News has called that a "terrorist fist jab," which is just plain stupid, but they also showed a banner calling Michelle "Obama's baby mama." I am outraged. I just watched as MSNBC read aloud the definition of "baby mama" from urbandictionary.com and then discussed the meaning.
| 1. | baby mama |
| The mother of your child(ren), whom you did not marry and with whom you are not currently involved. |
The implication of the remark is that regardless of any personal or professional achievements, Michelle Obama is still black; regardless of her successful marriage she is no different than the millions of unwed black mothers. To use what in this context is a racial slur on such an admirable, successful woman just outrages in me to an extent I can't even communicate. And to watch the hosts of news programs try to explore what the phrase means and discuss the political consequences without outright calling it racist makes me sad for the American viewing public who apparently haven't come as far as they pretend.
1 comment:
we are just scratching the surface of america's racism. get ready to be way more outraged.
Post a Comment