Yesterday was the absolute prettiest day of the 2009 so far. It reached 77 degrees fahrenheit in Brooklyn and the sun was out until almost eight pm.
I spent the better part of the afternoon in the park (yeaaay), studying (boo).
While sitting on my awesome portable bamboo mat, I observed a teenage boy hit a baseball, and that baseball fly straight into the face of a five-year-old who happened to be cutting across the meadow with his mother. The kid got hit dead on.
My first thought was that the child might drop dead (think Owen Meany, people). Instead, he started to cry, hard. Perhaps there was a quick apology from the hitter. But the mother started screaming at the hitter. As soon as she did, a middle aged man who was playing with the teenagers, maybe the pitcher, started screaming back.
Mom yelled a lot. Dad told her that it was all her fault for cutting across the field instead of taking the path around. Mom told him to look around, that the whole park was crowded and people were sitting all around his game (it was super crowded). Mom told Dad that he didn't own the park. Dad told Mom that she didn't own the park. Dad said he was only yelling because Mom had started yelling. Mom asked why they didn't even apologize for hitting her kid. At first, I was definitely on the mom's side. People should be apologetic when they accidentally hit little kids in the face.
As the mom was yelling the little kid ran away crying. Well, crying and cursing the baseball players. He just kept calling them A-holes. It was sort of funny see a little kid with such a filthy mouth.
The hitter walked off and got an icy from the helado cart.
About the point it looked like the parents might start throwing punches, a police SUV drove by on its regular patrol of the park. The lady realized she had lost her kid and made a half hearted attempt to call him back. But instead of actually finding her kid she ran over to the cops. I couldn't hear what she said.
Once the Mom lost her kid, she also lost my sympathy. Keep your priorities straight, lady!
So the cop drives into the meadow and tells the dad that the game is over. This dad doesn't just move on like a rational person, he argues with the cop. He asks why the kids on the next meadow can play soccer. It was crazy, I thought he might get himself arrested. Finally, the kid with the icecream comes over and tells his dad to chill, repeatedly.
It was an exciting day in the Slope.
Epilogue
The mom left and I assume she found her bruised child. The baseball players walked by me on the way out the park. One of the other players kept yelling, "He did it. He did it." and pointing to the hitter. When he said it to me, I said, "I know. I saw." Then the dad jumped in to tell me how unfair it was that they had to quit their game. The dad started talking about all the other kids playing sports in the park, and I regretted saying anything. He blamed that woman for being so mad and crazy. I said, "I think she was mad because her kid got hit in the face."
The dad pointed out that they were playing with a wiffle ball and that the kid was just stunned. That was the piece I needed to put the puzzle together. Had it been a real baseball that kid would not have been running around cursing, he would not have been moving. If they had been playing with a real ball, as it had appeared, in a park that crowded, they would have been on their way to committing manslaughter.
The dad just kept repeating that the kid was only stunned. I'm not sure that made it all OK, but it made him seem less unreasonable. Also, it made that mom look like a worse mom.
Then the hitter told his dad that that was just how white people had to act about things. One of the other teenagers looked at me and pointed back to the hitter and said, "He's the one who said that."
After that last comment you might be wondering, and because this is Brooklyn, if I didn't tell you you would have no way of guessing:
Dad: grumpy old jewish guy
Mom: white affluent Park Slope stroller mom
Both the hitter and the kid who got hit in the face: that A-Rod/Jeter hard to guess look
All the other baseball players: black teenagers
It was a great day of people behaving badly in the park.